1677 Whipple House
The 1677 Whipple House is one of the finest examples of “first period” American architecture (1625-1725). The oldest part of the house dates to 1677 when the military officer and entrepreneur Captain John Whipple constructed an impressive townhouse near the center of Ipswich to showcase his wealth.
Before 1683, he expanded his half-house to become a full house. His son, Major John Whipple, constructed a lean-to that more than doubled its size. Eighteenth century Whipples added Georgian “improvements” that are still visible. Nineteenth and 20th century Colonial Revivalists (the original founders of what is now the Ipswich Museum) saved the house from destruction, restored it, and moved it to its present location in 1927.
Today, the house’s frame of oak, chestnut, and tamarack is largely intact. Wall sheathing and clamshell ceiling plaster retain their first period charm. Seventeenth and 18th century furnishings and decorative arts by local and regional craftsmen fill the home. A colonial-style “housewife’s garden” greets visitors at the entrance.
Ipswich Museum | 54 South Main Street | Ipswich, MA 01938 | Tel: 978.356.2811 | email@example.com